Greatest appliances ever + Ivey acceptance!

Oh boy, do I have lots to catch you all up on!

But first, to explain my lack of posting and commenting (sorry!) is because we moved last weekend!  Although it was sad to say bye to the old house,

goodbye!

I was excited to move into the new one!
The last week has been full of packing, moving, unpacking and reorganizing.  I haven’t gone to the gym in awhile because lifting boxes and climbing stairs is a class of working out of its own!  We moved into a new development so it took a few days to get our appliances (still no stovetop, eek!)

messy kitchen, tired mom

and soo the food has been a little random..but delicious!  Thank goodness for microwaves and toasters (can you say college student??) I made open faced sandwiches with peanut butter, egg white puffs and a toasted sammie thin.  This was a different combination but I really enjoyed it!  I liked that the puffs added volume and bulk and protein to pump up the otherwise flat sandwich.

peanut butter, microwaved egg whites on a sandwich thin

 Using my toaster, I made a toasted hummus and tomato sandwich.  The beefy tomatoes made it hearty and light all at once. Delicious!

sandwich makin'

toasted

tomatoes and hummus

Another appliance I was happy to uncover in our huge mess of boxes: my blender!
I made a green monster with frozen strawberries (the ones I picked last week!), a banana, lots of spinach, splash of soy, and Chocolate Amazing Grass!
I found this as I was packing up the pantry (Best part of moving: finding forgotten (food) treasures!) I felt like chocolate this morning so I gave it a go!

pretty amazing

started off pink and pretty

add spinach

and you get this yummy (ugly) thang

It had a cocoa-y taste more than a hot-chocolate-powder kind of sweet taste but that was okay because the banana and strawbs added lots of natural sugary sweetness!

I was making banana soft serve last night but then…I saw the spinach in the fridge. I just had to add it in but it made it a lot thinner (I guess spinach has a lot of water in it?) so I ended up with a GM but that’s okay, spinach is awesome!  🙂

green goodness

Another amazing appliance – the steam oven!  We ordered this special appliance from Miele.  They were the first company to come up with this built in convection steam oven and I’m so glad they did!  It is making my life so much easier because I steam just about everything.  It opens like a stove and you just put in your veggies, fish, pasta, whatever, and select the doneness you prefer! 

new favourite?

steam oven

It takes about 5 minutes to steam frozen edamame and 20 to cook rice!  They say you can cook all sorts of vegetables, meat, casseroles and even bread and homemade jam!  Oh the possibilities!

So far, I have steamed edamame and cooked rice but I will definitely be testing this baby out more!  Any ideas about what should I make next?

steamed edamame

With things still in boxes and a pretty bare fridge, I have been having lots of portable and easy eats. I had NO IDEA bananas were meant to be opened upside down! I was reading Jessica’s blog and had to try it for myself!

upside down banana

 I’ve had lots of cereal! And I used this nifty trick to add sliced bananas!

cereal with bananas

I have been eating a TON of watermelon these days too! It is just so refreshing and thirst quenching in this heat!  I cut up the melon all at once and keep them in my old yogurt tubs! It makes it so easy to grab for a snack…almost too easy because I eat the whole tub (a quarter of a melon!) at once and I have a hugggee food baby and pee, like every 5 minutes.

One last exciting thing to share with you!

I love getting letters!

Last week, I received my acceptance into the Richard Ivey School of Business!  I am so blessed to have the opportunity to attend this school and it is located in the university I am attending now so I get to live with my same housemates and everything!

I still have lots to unpack so I will end it off here! Promise to be back in less than a week!

Questions for ya: What appliance could you not live without? What do you make with it??

Have an awesome day!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Greatest appliances ever + Ivey acceptance!

  1. Meg

    CONGRATS GIRL! THAT’S AMAZING 😀

    Aww so sad saying bye to your old place, but HELLO new house 🙂 It’ll be great. I love edemame and bananas 🙂 I didn’t know that bananas were supposed to be peeled a special way either – that’s cool beans! 😉

    Enjoy your evening!

  2. Moving is definitely stressful! I completely understand about not blogging. And Amazing Grass is really amazing! I’ve been using it for a year or so, and I haven’t been sick at all!

    Congrats on being accepted into the business school!

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    congratulations on your acceptance!!! so exciting 🙂 i’m sure you worked hard to deserve it!!
    i need a new blender asap- mine is slowly breaking. I had no idea that bananas are meant to be eaten upside down? wtf.. i guess i’ve always been wrong! haha so funny.
    i LOVE my panini maker 🙂

    xoxoxo

  4. WOW CONGRATS ON YOUR ACCEPTANCE GIRL!! so exciting!! and you SO deserve it!!! LOVE that house pic! that house is beautiful! im sure your new one is too 🙂

  5. Ivy

    Wow, congrats on being accepted!
    Hmm, must try the hummus tomato sandwich!

  6. Congrats on getting into Business School!!! I’m so happy for you!

    I didn’t know that bananas were meant to be opened upside down either. Lol. I think I’ll always peel them from the stem down no matter what though. x) And I can’t live without our oven. I usually cook using the oven, which basically means wrapping (almost) everything in foil and throwing them in until perfectly cooked. In fact, I found that having veggies ‘baked’ in the oven in foil pretty much steams them up! What can I say? I’m a lazy cook. Hehe.

    xoxo

  7. WOOHOO congrats on the business school acceptance, what an accomplishment!

    Glad to hear the move is going well and you’re getting all unpacked. That’s definitely like a workout, if not better than one! SO jealous of your steam oven too, I didn’t even know those existed. Pretty sure I’m going to have to have one now one day in my future though!

  8. congrats on your acceptance girlie! thats awesome 🙂

    mm i love the combo of eggs and peanut butter. my family thinks its weird, but i just love it.

  9. awe ur poor mama! 😦 she needs a good massage and spa day after the move!! ❤

    blenders are so fantastic in the middle of moves. as long as theres an outlet.. as i say lol

    i feel a little sad seeing ur home. bye bye Danica's home 😦

    xoxo ❤

  10. Congrats on getting into your top pick school!!

    I’ve never heard of a steam oven before I read this post–I want one! As for my fave appliance, without a doubt is my stove. I even reheat leftovers stovetop–I hardly use my microwave anymore.

    Good luck with the rest of the move, girl!

  11. Congrats!! Anddd super jealous about the tomato/hummus sammy I have been craving one of those for days!

  12. Congrats on your acceptance. Are you paying for college yourself, are your parents, did you have scholorships, ect. Sorry I just like to hear how people are paying for college these days. It is hard with twins going to college. That is a lot of money. I am thinking that we are going to start out at community college though.

    -Court

  13. What a great lookin new appartment!!

  14. Oh my gosh congrats! I go to Western too! 😀

    I seriously love it there and it has a gorgeous campus! The one con: the healthy eats on campus are seriously lacking!

Leave a Reply

