half and half

wow it’s been a while eh??

Well, now that my first french essay is behind me (whew!) and work is not tooo too busy, I’m back in business!

And I think its time for another recap of the week! I had a half and half kind of week, full of work and fun, healthy eats and not-so-healthy indulgences. But it was all amazing and delish so let’s get to it!

Saturday and Sunday, I worked the 5:30 am to 1:30pm shift!  Some people asked me how I can even get up that early, let alone work, but I actually LOVE waking up early!  It’s so nice to drive without any traffic (because really, who gets up at 4:30 am on the weekend??), I get to watch the sun rise over the golf course (absolutely beautiful btw and I am definitely like sunrises over sunsets), and I have the whole rest of my day to hang out with friends/run errands/have fun!

Sunrises or sunsets??

Then, as I mentioned in my last post, my mom, bud and I went to our town festival!  Lots of people, dogs, ice cream, barbequed corn and fireworks? You can bet I’ll be there 🙂

so good I brought one home too!

Monday, I worked 8 – 4 and then went to a BBQ at a friend’s house! We had lots of barbequed goodies including lots of veggies – sweet potatoes, zucchini, peppers, mushrooms, corn (had loads of all the veg!), steak (didn’t have any because I don’t like steak), ribs (had a bite), drumsticks and wings (one of each), some kind of fish and a LOT of roasted marshmallows!! I cannot resist those chewy, gooey poofs and let’s just say I stopped counting after marshmallow #6!

It feels good to induldge my friends, but get this, marshmallows are completely fat free! but, of course, totally full of sugar haha. You win some, you lose some right??

Really high on sugar, we proceeded to spend the next 2 hours having the most intense boxing matches on wii!! I didn’t believe in all that stuff about playing the wii as a form of exercise but boy, was that a workout! My arms and shoulders were killing the next day and I was completely out of breath after the boxing matches!

Do you think wii counts as a form of exercise??

Tuesday, I worked on my essay all day and was boring.  But I did take some very necessary breaks to make great food!

cereal + yogurt snack

 I hardly ever eat red meat just because I don’t really like the taste of it but in my mom’s spaghetti, I’m down 😉 Also, I feel better knowing that she uses extra-lean, organic ground beef in the sauce as well as onions, mushrooms, ketchup (secret ingredient!) and whole wheat pasta.

mom-made spaghetti!

 It’s such a childhood, feel-good food (wow rhymes) that I love having once in a while!

spaghets

 What’s one of your childhood favourites??

I also had a great dinner at home for a change! With going out, long hours at work, etc., it was wonderful to sit down and have dinner with the fam (which is just me and parents because my sister lives 9 hours away!)

balanced + vibrant

I had sauteed asparagus + mushrooms in oyster sauce (kinda like a sweeter soya sauce),

veg (this amount x 3!)

pan fried tofu and shrimp,

protein (+ a couple more tofu chunks)

baked sweet potato

very appropriately heart shaped

and of course, (avocado) green rice 

still lovin' the green rice

Wednesday, I went to work and served a banquet dinner so I got a free dinner and dessert was a Chudleigh’s apple blossom! These are quite honestly, the best things everSuper flaky, buttery crust with warm apple filling, crunchy granola top, served vanilla bean ice cream

now add a scoop of ice cream, and it's heaven

I took a look at the nutrition info, and it’s not pretty. 45% of your daily rec sat. fat, 19 g of sugar, 350 cals!  and that’s without the ice cream, raspberry coulis, and custard that the chefs add for garnish! How can something that tastes sooo good be sooo bad for you??

In any case, it is a very “worth it”, once-in-a-while treat that I love indulging in.  Plus, it was free! 

Ps. Google says these were discontinued at Trader Joe’s!  Have you ever seen/tried them before?

But before work, I had yoatgurt for breakfast!! oh, it has been too long since I’ve had this!

perfection in a bowl

For perfect yoatgurt,

1) Make oats with 1/2 cup quick oats, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup water, pinch of salt, 1 sliced banana, cinn

2) Let oats cool, then transfer to new bowl (for asthetic purposes and to avoid heating yogurt)

3) Add 3/4 cup plain 2% yogurt

4) Top with cinn, and enjoy!

I like to keep them separate and have a bit of cold yogurt with each bite of warm oats instead of mixing it all into one big lukewarm mess (although that is pretty good too)

let's get closer

Yoatgurt is perfect for this weather!  Warms you up on chilly mornings, cool enough for the summer heat, and filling to boot!

However, I am noticing skin issues when I eat a lot of yogurt.  This is really sad for me (you know I love my yogurt) and I had hoped that it was something else but it seems that yogurt makes me break out!  I stopped eating it for a couple days and my skin cleared and when I started again, it flared right up! I have read that dairy does worsen acne but I have never had this problem before. 

Does this happen to you?? This is a serious issue for me and I need your advice!! I love yogurt but I love clear skin too!

Thursday (today), I went to work at 7, set up a banquet room for 160 people and then served “linner” so I. am. pooped.  I just relaxed when I got home and am about to head out with my dad to all-you-can-eat sushi! It’ll be an elastic waist pants kind of night for sure!

Enjoy your night! I promise to be back soon!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “half and half

  1. Dairy gives me really annoying cystic acne around my mouth. I find that when I cut it out completely, it gets so much better and when i do get a pimple, it clears up faster.

    I rarely eat dairy anymore, not worth the embarassment over my skin for me!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog again! I got the roasted edamame at whole foods, but I’ve seen it in most grocery stores or health food stores. It’s usually near the nuts. They are delicious/crunchy/salty.. yum! I love them way more than plain edamame.

  2. Thanks for your sweet comment, Danica! Jenna from Eat, Live, Run just posted about some lentil recipes:

    http://eatliverun.com/end-of-innocence/

    Also, you should try snobby joes if you haven’t yet!
    http://www.theppk.com/recipes/dbrecipes/index.php?RecipeID=2059

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’ll add you to my Google Reader so I can keep up with you and your delish eats.

    As for Chipotle, I’m not even kidding when I say you need to round up all your Canadian friends and drive down here for it. It’s that good. Or here: I’ll drive up there and deliver it. I’m in Minnesota, so we’re basically neighbors.

    Please go buy the Shred! It’s only like $7 and sooo worth it. 🙂

  4. Meg

    I am also a HUGE fan of roasted marshmallows 😉 Indulgences are TOTALLY worth it, especially when they are so heavenly 😉

  5. i totally think WII can count as a workout. i thnik anything that either makes u sweat or makes u sore the next day counts as a workout!

    yogurt can make me breakout!! i totally can get little bumps on my forehead from it,,,

  6. I love summer for all the BBQs and festivals. Especially BBQed corn!

    I’m SO thankful dairy doesn’t cause me to break out. I don’t know what I would do without yogurt!

  7. maxinthegym

    I think indulgences are totally necessary to keep you sane!

    P.S. I just found your blog 🙂 I look forward to reading it!

  8. You are too cute (I’ve been catching up on your blog)! I love the idea of green rice, looks yummy!

  9. hey girl thanks for checking out my blog 🙂

    yoatgurt is SO delicious!!! the perf breakfast for the summer 🙂 hope you’re having a great weekend girl!

Leave a Reply

