21 changes for health

This has been such an amazing, eye-opening year for me and I could not be more thankful.  Thankful for my family who has stuck by me, for the new friends I have made, for the blogosphere that has taught me so much and for the changes I have made.

This past year, I was forced to change for my health.  The weight gain to get back to a healthy weight (which I am still working on actually) was an obviously necessary change for health but the other changes were unexpected but just as essential!

In no particular order, here are just some of my health gaining changes and tidbits I have learned:

 1) Instead of Splenda to sweeten, I choose fruit, honey, plain ol’ white sugar or just enjoy it plain! (It took some time but I really and truly love the tart creaminess that is plain yogurt 🙂 )

strawb and kiwi sweetened plain yog

2) I switched from skim to 1% milk and still wonder how I ever convinced myself that skim was just as good

3) I buy organic chicken and free run eggs as often as I can and really believe there is a taste-able difference

free run breakfast!

4) I don’t drink diet pop and no longer feel that fake fullness and bloat that accompanies it.  I drink real squeezed fruit juice or just pop a juicy orange!

real juicy

5) Low-fat is ALWAYS chosen over non-fat (plain and simple, we need fat.  It keeps you full and satisfied and beautiful 😉 )

thick n creamy 😉

6) Peanuts-and-salt-only peanut butter over processed pb (you get all that nutty pb taste and nothing else!)

loves my of life

7) I eat FAT and enjoy it! Avocados, fatty fish, cheese, pb, nuts, YUM.  (oil, I’m still having trouble with)

choice of fats: cream cheese or pb

8) Dessert over no dessert.  That’s a no brainer, a little dessert never hurt anyone, especially if its of the Chapman’s fro yo variety or a homemade muffin! Plus, it tastes good and life is too short to not indulge in a real cookie when you want one 😉

oh yum

 9) Snack before bed is a must.  True fact: I wake up in the middle of the night or super early in the morning if I don’t have one!

cinn and pb apple

10) Walking over running.  I enjoy it more (esp with my dog and dad in tow!), it’s easier on your joints, better for gaining and is still a legit, heart-pumping form of exercise!

11) Have more than just fruit/veg at a meal/snack. Include protein AND carbs AND fat for max yumminess and satiation

egg white omelet with ricotta, spin, mushrooms and a thin

12) Stop the food habits; they don’t need to be there. I used to eat reallllllyyy slowly, soak the oil off everything, pick off all traces of fat/skin, refuse to eat out, make all of my own food

scarfin' down my food

13) Beans can and should be added to things like soups, stews, casseroles, pasta sauces, baked goods! They add bulk, fibre, protein, nutrients and taste amazing!

my mexican rice!

14) Roast everything! It’s easy, healthy and tasttyyy! Line a baking sheet, spray some PAM, spread washed veg/fish/chicken breast/chickpeas/almonds/tofu/anything, seriously, spray again, add some spices, bake in preheated oven for 20-30 mins, EAT!

roast it, you'll love it

15) Pre-workout snacks are crucial. They help me focus, power through and enjoy the workout!

pb banana powerhouse

16) Calorie counting is boring and tiring and totally unnecessary, your body KNOWS what it needs

asian salad of tofu, steamed veg, shrimp in a peanut sauce!

17) Everything is a lot more fun when I’m not hungry all the time/pre-occupied with food thoughts

hair in my face and still lovin' it!

18) I love snacks!

classic: yogurt + granola

19) It feels good to exercise but equally as good to sit on the porch reading while having a particularly good snack.  Why? See #18!

20) Pressed/grilled is always better (see #14)

presssssed

21) Food tastes really really good and is meant to be enjoyed.

who could resist a big ol' (tofurky) sandwich?

And reminder for my giveaway ending on June 4th! You have 2 days!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “21 changes for health

  1. hehe free run breakfast- i laugh because i picture it taking off any moment, running off the table yelling “im free im free”

    I LOVE YOUR GOALS THO! i wish u all the best, ur such a tough cookie!!! ❤

  2. Pingback: I’m in love. « Sunshine 'n Spice

  3. Meg

    I love this so much – you’re a beautiful person Danica 🙂

  4. This made me smile so much.
    While self-motivation is still hard to come by or muster up myself, being motivated by others really kicks things into gear.

    You are beautiful.
    Your words are beautiful.
    Thank you.

  5. I LOVE this post! Love your goals and glad you are letting go and enjoying!

    I need a snack before bed always too, or else I cant sleep and wake up at3 am hungry!!

    xoxo

  6. You live in Canada right? And you got fage? Never see that!

    Love this post. Yes…I only walk. That is it. And I rather sit and read then do much anything else.
    Nice post.

  7. this is awesome… thank you thank you

  8. Love this post girl and your blog!!

  9. I, too, have made many health changes in the past year, similar to the ones you’ve lsited here! Thanks so much for sharing this 🙂 It inspired me to reflect on my progress.

  10. a truly amazing list 🙂 I’m trying to follow the same 🙂

  11. i love this post. i love your attitude. i love your spirit. i love your take on food too! gotta browse around your blog now 🙂

Leave a Reply

