Bran(d) new blog

Hello and welcome to Eat to Live to Eat!

I am so excited to be sharing some of my everyday eats and recipes with you all!  And what better way to start than with a recipe for berry bran muffins! No really, I promise these are not only super healthy and chock full of fibre but they are ridiculously delicious and moist.

My mom loves bran muffins and although I was originally making them  for her, I have definitely had my fair share already! They are about 100 calories and make an excellent snack when warmed and smothered in pb! But then again, what doesn’t right?

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups wheat bran
  • 1 cup buttermilk ( I used 1 T vinegar plus milk to make 1 cup liquid)
  • 1/3 cup applesauce
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup dried fruit (I used mix of blueberries, cherries, raisins and cranberries soaked in warm water for 5 mins)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with paper muffin liners.

Mix together wheat bran and buttermilk; let stand for 10 minutes.

 

Beat together oil, egg, sugar and vanilla and add to buttermilk/bran mixture. Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Stir flour mixture into buttermilk mixture, until just blended. Fold in raisins and spoon batter into prepared muffin tins.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean. Cool and enjoy!

I put them in for about 16 mins and they turned out perfect! They are just the right amount of sweetness especially when you get a bite of fruit-y goodness!  Please try them and let me know what you think!

I will be back tomorrow for a recap of eats but for now some of my fav pics of snacks/meals and dog!

 

Buddy: gimme that yogurt mess!

deliciousness: turkey, egg white, cheddar on arnolds thin

Chopstick action and garlicky broc - my fav!

Naan and chickpeas - what more do you need?

Tofu and shrimp salad rolls with peanut sauce - tutorial coming soon!

strawberries and bananas make the best oat combo

standard snack: blueberry optimum, plain yogurt, chopped almonds and cinnamon

comfort food: roasted brussels, asparagus and tofu

Have a great day!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Bran(d) new blog

  1. Yummm these muffins look like an amazing start to your blog! And I actually have “House Rules” on hold at the library.. granted I am about #500 on the waiting list but I cannot wait to read it!

  2. Meg

    Danicaaa! SO excited you’re blogging again 😀

    Those muffins look ridiculously good! I will be adding that to my to-do list, maybe I’ll make a batch for my Mom 🙂

  3. Pingback: changes | Eat to Live to Eat

Leave a Reply

