My first organic conference + homemade cake!

Try new things. One of my resolutions this year because really, there is SO much to life and there are SO many things that I want to try!

On vacation over Christmas break, I tried sea-dooing for the first time and it was AWESOME!

excited and kinda nervous

and I'm off!

I didn't want to get off!

And then last weekend, I went to my first organic conference! I’ve been so jealous of all you bloggers going to BlogHer conferences, and all the expos so when I found out about the annual Guelph Organic Conference, I knew I had to go! I offered to volunteer there and got a free day pass so it worked out great.  My mom also went to the trade show that was free for everyone and thoroughly enjoyed her time talking to the exhibitors and getting free samples!

estatic to be at the conference

I also got lots of amazing swag! Check it out:

I love free things!

Nature’s Path had a booth set up there so I obviously went over and struck up a conversation with their reps and they were just as nice as I thought they would be! I also grabbed a ton of bars and cereal samples that I hadn’t tried before!

pumpkin? spice? I'm all in!

 

tried this right away and it was delish!!

Y’all know my favourite Nature’s Path product, but what’s yours??

Also, snagged an organic apple picked locally from a farm right in Guelph!  It was so juicy and fresh and noticeably tastier than regular grocery store apples. Makes me wish I had farm!

farm fresh

Now onto the reallyyyy good stuff – homemade chocolate cake! Doesn’t get much better than that does it??

Now to make this cake, I consulted my go-to baking and cooking site, and found this beautiful dark chocolate cake recipe. With 939 reviews and 4.5 stars, I was excited to try it and it definitely didn’t disappoint! 

Dark Chocolate Cake from allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease 3 – 9 inch round cake pans. In medium bowl, pour boiling water over cocoa, and whisk until smooth. Let mixture cool. Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt; set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at time, then stir in vanilla. Add the flour mixture alternately with the cocoa mixture. Spread batter evenly between the 3 prepared pans.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes. Allow to cool.

All the ingredients I had on hand and it was really simple and quick to make! My friend and I mixed it up and popped it in the oven while we worked on some homework and 25 minutes later, we had cakeee!  Somehow, we had a little too much batter so we made ourselves each a cupcake and got to try the moist, chocolately goodness right out of the oven.

stacked

 

And boy, was it was gooood. But, it got better. We made creamy chocolate frosting, also from allrecipes.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting from allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 6 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 5 tablespoons evaporated milk ( I used regular cow’s milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, sift together the confectioners’ sugar and cocoa, and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter until smooth, then gradually beat in sugar mixture alternately with evaporated milk. Blend in vanilla. Beat until light and fluffy. If necessary, adjust consistency with more milk or sugar.

We whipped this up by hand

none of it went to waste - trust me ;)

 

And then we got frosting.

"women of new york: frost yourselves!" - how to lose a guy in 10 days anyone??

And decorating.

smarties and more icing!

We finally finished,

happy birthday luce!!

And then we ate!

birthday girl

It was such a fun night and she loved her cake so this will be the first of many, many homemade cakes! Who needs betty?

i love chocolate cake

Have you baked a real, honest to goodness, made-from-scratch chocolate cake? I know I always chose cake mix for its convenience and the fact that it just tastes so darn good every time! But this was better so I’ll be stickin’ to this recipe from now on!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “My first organic conference + homemade cake!

  1. i once baked a cake from scratch.. but it TASTED horrible ahahah.. so i have not made one since.. but this.. this looks yum!!!

  2. I’m so jealous that you went to that organic conference! I didn’t even know about it until you mentioned it. Is it happening next year too??

  3. An organic conference!?!! That is sooo cool! I want to go to one:) Your cake looks so delicious btw, and I adore your blog!!

  4. Haha no need to apologize! ;) I’m definitely going to keep that in mind for next year! It’s so hard to find good conferences in our area.

  5. Looks like you had a great time seadooing and at the conference! I have a friend in grad school for food science at Guelph, so I’m sure she was there, too!

    And your chocolate cake looks amazing! I admit, I think most made from mix cakes taste awesome, so it’s definitely easier to go that route. Smitten Kitchen has some great cake recipes, though. :)

  6. I always love swag bags!! I’m so impressed with your cake. I’ve never done one from scratch before!

  7. Such a cute cake! I’ve never baked one all the way from scratch before. I should!

  8. I LOVE sea-dooing, it’s so fun. :) An organic conference? That’s so neat, I have to say I’m pretty jealous. ;) I would love to go to one. That cake looks so amazing too! I actually don’t think I’ve ever baked a chocolate cake from scratch, although I’d definitely like to give it a try.

  9. I have never ever made a cake before not even from a box lol But yours looks like a total win!! :)

  10. I want to go to an organic conference! Now I’m jealous!

    That cake looks really yummy by the way!

  11. I’ve made a dark chocolate raspberry cake once… I’m not usually much of a cake baker since I feel like I have to have an “event” to bake a cake for, but I bake cookies on the daily ;) lol.

    That apple looks positively divine!

    I’m loving your blog :)

  12. Pingback: more firsts! | Eat to Live to Eat

Leave a Reply

